“Eye of The Tiger” Is My Theme Song

Joanne Marszal
2 min readDec 16, 2017

--

Music is not only used to entertain. It has the ability to empower the people who listen to it. One song in particular that keeps me motivated is Survivor’s “Eye of The Tiger.” This song was released in 1982. It is best known as the theme song to Sylvester Stallone’s box office hit “Rocky.”

The song speaks of getting back on your feet even when things don’t go right. It talks about having a strong will no matter how many times something goes wrong. It tells listeners to never give up on their dreams. “Eye of The Tiger” encourages to never back down during a challenge as well as being strong willed like a tiger. Towards the end of the song it speaks of never giving up even if the odds are stacked up against someone.

The song is played during the film when Rocky Balboa (Stallone) trains for his match against heavy-weight champion Apollo Creed to strive for self-respect and acceptance from others. The film itself is an inspiration telling the audience to chase after their dreams even though times are never easy. If someone wants something bad enough, he or she should go the distance no matter how long it takes to achieve.

Being in a wheelchair I faced many challenges throughout my life. When I hear “Eye of The Tiger” it reminds me to keep pushing through and to never give up no matter how long it takes to reach whatever I set my mind to achieve. I love this song so much that I downloaded it as one of my ringtones. This way I can hear the positive message of the song when someone calls me. The song may be old, but I will never get tired of hearing it and singing along to it. Below is the Survivor music video of “Eye of Tiger”

--

--

Joanne Marszal

I majored in Multimedia Journalism. Writing is my passion. I write about anything from sports, music, video games, non-profit organizations and more